Jim McGrath

Jim McGrath (pronounced ‘McGraw’) is a Toronto-based composer best known for his television work, including the hit series: Degrassi: The Next Generation, Killjoys, CBC’s Republic of Doyle and Kids in the Hall: Death Comes to Town. His feature film and documentary work is just as impressive; credits include: Tulipani: Love, Honour & a Bicycle, (directed by Oscar-winning director Mike van Diem), The Last Mogul: The Life & Times of Lew Wasserman, Foolproof, (starring Ryan Reynolds), the Columbia Tristar thriller Resurrection and Odeon's Treed Murray, which was nominated for five Genie Awards including Best Picture and Outstanding Achievement in Music. The score for Treed Murray went on to win Gold in the Film Festival in Mar del Plata, Argentina. Jim and long-time creative partner Tim Welch have collaborated on the CTV series Sight Unseen, which premieres on January 22, 2023.

McGrath has orchestrated and conducted film scores with the Munich Symphony, the Salt Lake Symphony, the London Philharmonia and the City of Prague Philharmonic. He has also written arrangements for such recording artists as Tom Cochrane (with the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra), Ian Thornley and Big Wreck (with the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra); the Tower of Power Horns, Manteca, The Northern Pikes, Chantal Kreviazuk, Sarah Slean, and most recently for Steven Page in concert with the Vancouver Symphony. Jim’s Concertino for Cello was performed by American phenom soloist Cicely Parnas and The Montreal Chamber Orchestra at Bourgie Concert Hall in the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts.

Interestingly, Jim’s theme for Degrassi was featured in Drake’s video “I’m Upset” which saw over 95 million views. Tulipani: Love, Honour & a Bicycle has won several Best Picture and Audience Choice awards at festivals worldwide, including: Sonoma International Film Festival, and Washington DC Filmfest. It won the award for Best Soundtrack at Villammare Film Festival in 2019.

CoreMusicAgency · Jim McGrath